Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

CTC 4 x 250m / 1min rest

Posted by thepeteplan on December 2, 2008

I decided to have a go at the new CTC challenge today, 4 x 250m / 1min rest, with the slowest rep counting. I wasn’t really sure how to pace it, whether to go all out from the start to see how much the pace dropped off, and judge better for next time – or try to pick the pace I thought I could maintain.

2k warm up = 1:53 / 25 – not really a long enough warm up for this type of session, but I didn’t have time for longer.

4 x 250m / 1min rest:
41.4 / 1:22.8 / 48
41.8 / 1:23.6 / 44
41.8 / 1:23.6 / 44
41.9 / 1:23.7 / 44 – slowest rep

Average = 2:46.9 / 1:23.4 / 45

I could tell from the first rep that it was a little too fast to maintain, hence the slower second rep. I then tried to just hit the same time for the final 2 reps. Unfortunately mistimed the final stroke of rep 4 and saw the split and time drop by 0.1. I could go marginally faster with a slightly slower first rep, but I’m not really in any sort of sprinting shape at the moment, so I’m not sure I will bother revisiting this one again. It’s too short for a good work out, but too intense and tough to do much meaningful following it.

Leave a Reply

 
