Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

It’s time for some speed work

Posted by thepeteplan on November 29, 2008

I had two options in my mind for training this afternoon – either take part in the 2k on rowpro, as I’ve not used rowpro for a while and I want to get in a few 2k’s before Boston, or go to the gym. I decided to go to the gym and do the session I’d avoided earlier in the week, the type of work I need to do in the run up to Boston if I’m to be faster over 2k.

10min warm up = 2666m / 1:53.0 / 25

1k – 3minR – 500m – 3minR – 1k – 3minR – 500m – 3minR – 1k

1k = 3:09.8 / 1:34.9 / 34
500m = 1:34.9 / 33
1k = 3:09.9 / 1:34.9 / 34
500m = 1:35.0 / 34
1k = 3:09.1 / 1:34.5 / 35

Totals: 4k = 12:38.6 / 1:34.8 / 34

Then the now usual 50 Jamie’s and 3 x 10 Waddell’s. I’m happy enough with this session, but I know I need to do more of this type of work if I’m to make a dent in my 2k time. My fitness level is as high as it has ever been, but I’m just not fast enough physically or mentally at this type of work at the moment.

One Response to “It’s time for some speed work”

  1. Jamie Pfeffer said

    Remember, Pete: You have almost THREE FULL MONTHS until the race. You’re in great shape; you’ve built a massive fitness base. You will probably row about 25 interval workouts before CRASH-B. We’re peaking in late February, not late November. You’re exactly on schedule.

Leave a Reply

 
