Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

An even faster 60mins

Posted by thepeteplan on November 17, 2008

I hate days like today. I decided to set 60mins on the clock rather than do a “just row” and aim to beat the 1:47.8 average from Saturday. So I set off just under that for the first 10mins, then gradually negative split up to 20mins to go. For some reason then, with 20mins still on the clock, something in my head said the finish line was in sight, and I kept speeding up. Then with 10mins to go I put the hammer down…

60mins = 16955m / 1:46.1 / 28
10mins splits:
1:47.7 / 27
1:47.1 / 27
1:46.8 / 28
1:46.4 / 28
1:45.6 / 29
1:43.3 / 30

So why do I hate days like this? Two reasons – even though it’s pretty cold I won’t stop sweating now for 2 hours, and because I pushed so hard I have about a 75% chance of feeling crap later (headache, sneezing etc). Oh well, it was a good row.

And Paul who replied to yesterday’s entry – I know a few people who went to UPS, including one rower.

3 Responses to “An even faster 60mins”

  1. Paul Siegel said

    Small world, eh? Keep up the posts. Great inspiration. My 60mins are no were near yours, but you’ve got a few years on me.

  2. Jamie Pfeffer said

    Great row! You averaged a 1:44 for the last 20 minutes: extraordinary.

  3. Neil Gallagher said

    Amazing! I’m dreaming of the day when I can do a 2k @ 1:46, never mind an hour!

    Re 75% chance of feeling crap later: I’m interested in the effects of hard training wearing down one’s immune system, and how to get the balance right, having a good diet to support training etc. Especially at this time of year.

    I always have a protein shake straight after an erg session, and various vitamin & mineral supplements throughout the day. Would be interested to learn of others’ dietary tips to support a hard training schedule.

    Neil

Leave a Reply

 
