Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

More distance work

Posted by thepeteplan on November 16, 2008

It seems so much more time efficient to get on the erg, start rowing, then when you’ve had enough stop again. That’s just what I did this morning:

40mins = 10845m / 1:50.8 / 25spm

But I need to get back into doing a few interval sessions, as although it seems like little rowing time for the actual time commitment in the gym, they are essential for rowing fast 2k’s.

Does anyone read this?

It’s good to keep a blog to keep track of the training I’m doing, it’s even better to think that someone is reading it as you don’t then want to report a bad session, or worse still a missed session. So does anyone actually read this? It is very simple to reply to an entry, and please feel free to do so with any comments or questions you might have, or just to share your own training experiences.

Cycling:

You may have noticed that it has been some time since I mentioned any cycling in my blog, be it on the road, or on the turbo trainer. Road cycling it’s not surprising as it gets closer to winter – it’s pretty much dark when I leave work now, so cycling to work isn’t too appealing. However, I do have some good lights for my bike, and I did initially buy it for commuting to work, so I really should try to do that at least occasionally. As for the turbo, that may well make a re-entry into my training again soon for a bit of variety in the aerobic work. It’s difficult to justfy training on the turbo when the erg sits next to it at home, as it’s just not the same level of workout, or obviously not as specific to my goals.

5 Responses to “More distance work”

  1. shirleygkn said

    I look forward to reading your comments and it’s good to see they are more regular than they were for a while. It’s very beneficial to see what you are doing in your training and pick up ideas etc that I can put in place. All thoughts on your sessions are welcomed especially so as they are the same sessions I’m doing. Don’t you dare stop this thread as I make time to read this but don’t always have time to look at, or even post blogs on the C2 site. How’s that for a blunt reply….:-)

  2. Paul Siegel said

    I’m a college rower in the pacific northwest trying to get a faster 2k, I look at your blog everyday to get a good idea for training for the winter.

    I was planning on doing a 6k benchmark tomorrow afternoon. But I may just go swing for a while in the morning, sort of like what you’ve done, and push the 6k back a while.

  3. Neil Gallagher said

    I check in every day Pete for an update – makes for great reading.

    I wonder if Sir Steve ever missed an erg session due to a DIY screwdriver related hand injury, like I did this morning? I’m guessing probably not.

  4. Jamie Pfeffer said

    As usual, Shirley read my mind and said exactly what I was thinking. Except, she said it better.

    Best,
    Jamie

  5. kemerykane said

    Of course I read your blog! Every day. I not only enjoy reading your training updates but feel privileged to get a glimpse into the thoughts and theories of such an accomplished and highly trained athlete. I rarely comment because I mostly feel like the novice that I am, and doubt I’d have anything useful to add. As Shirley mentioned, it’s nice that you’ve started updating more regularly and also throwing in some snippets about life – such as your trip to NYC pictures, etc. Can’t wordpress allow you to track the hits you get? My guess is there are many of them. Thanks for taking the time to write.

Leave a Reply

 
