Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

The week ahead

Posted by thepeteplan on September 21, 2008

Thursday:

60mins = 16461m / 1:49.4 / 25

Saturday:

Submaximal 2k with just a short warm up (5mins):

2k = 6:22.2 / 1:35.5 / 32
1:35.0 / 33
1:36.5 / 32
1:36.6 / 32
1:34.1 / 34

This felt pretty good and in control.

The week ahead:

I was trying to list the targets for the week before it began a few weeks ago, and I think it helps me keep on track with what needs to be done, so I will try again:

Monday = 4 x 1k / 4min rest – my target for this will be 1:35.0. I think I am around 6:16 for a flat out 2k at the moment, and this session will tell me whether that is the case. Another 5 weeks of speed work to go, so a pb is still there for BIRC if all goes well.

Wednesday = 4 x 2k / 4min rest – I will not be going all out for sub 1:40 again this week. Instead I will take the first 3 reps a little easier so that I’m able to make the final rep the fastest. Sub 1:41 still for the first 3.

Friday = Longer negative split distance, or perhaps another go at the C2 4min challenge, I really want to get this down to 1:32.5 pace, which should be within me.

Harder interval sessions:

Nosmo commented on an entry a few days ago about not finding any hard session any more difficult than another. I think how hard you find a particular session varies from individual to individual, but within each session type I generally find the longer the interval, the harder it is. I agree that physically if done with the same intensity a 100% effort session is a 100% effort session, but when you put in the mental difficulty of having to hold the target pace for longer per interval (even if this target is slower to take into account longer intervals) I still think it is tougher. 4 x 1k I find a lot harder than 8 x 500m, even though I would do it 3 to 4 seconds slower pace, and it is the same overall distance. The 4 x 2k session, as I commented in the entry before, is tough because it is right on a whole number target pace. This always makes a session mentally tougher, until you break that barrier.

5 Responses to “The week ahead”

  1. shirleygkn said

    I can understand your thinking re the longer distances being a harder workout than the shorter with more intervals, but what I find extremely hard to get my head around is if I do a hard piece one week, no particular piece – and I’m happy with it, but have to repeat it again the next week and expect to do better. It appears easier to do different sessions all the time. Even a distance of 2 or 3 weeks is ok, it’s just doing the same piece within a few days. Other than not returning to it too soon, any suggestions?

  2. Jamie Pfeffer said

    For me, any session that uses a 2K interval is difficult. No matter how hard I try to convince myself that 2K is simply another piece, I know it isn’t. It’s just different. So I would much rather do 1K intervals than 2K intervals. And I’d prefer 500-meter rows to 1K rows.

  3. Nosmo said

    Shirleygkn: I think your problem is you expect to do better the next week. You just can’t do that every week. You can do it more often then not but you can’t expect to do it every week. I do think not returning to the session too soon may be the your best option.

    Perhaps some of the reason I don’t find any interval session much harder then another is that I’ve just adjusted my paces so that they are all the same difficulty taking into account the mental aspect. Perhaps because I come more from an endurance background, the 2K intervals just don’t seem very long.

    However I think the most important mental aspect is that I am never thinking about holding a target pace–I am always thinking about how much I can increase the pace. Unless something is wrong I negative split everything. So this mornings I did a 4x2K on the erg for the first time since July. (I have done a bunch on the water since then). I did 1:49.6 1:49.5 1:49.4 1:48.7. For these Intervals I row with the monitor displaying the average pace and the expected finish time. For the start of each of these I attempted to keep the expected finish time at 7:20 (1:50 pace) at the start. For the first one I kept it there until about 1100 to go, for the last I kept it there for only 250 meters. Then I slowly bring the expected finish time time down. Only on the last interval did I have more then a couple of strokes that were under 1:47 pace. At every point in the workout (except for the final 500m of the last interval) I know I can go faster then my current speed.

    The few times I’ve failed I don’t worry about it much. There is usually a good reason either–I am not recovered or I misjudged my abilities.

    When I go for a PR, I push things a bit harder in the beginning and try to get to my target pace fairly soon. I expect at the half way point to be wondering if I can maintain the pace until the finish. Usually I can increase it some in the last 20-25%. I consider it well done if I am incapable of increasing the pace by more then a second or two for the final sprint. There have been times I’ve backed off the pace just a bit after halfway. Slowing down by a second for a little provides a bit of a recovery and is something I can almost always make up at the end.
    I don’t go for PR’s unless I feel I can knock a decent amount of time off (say at least 4 seconds for a 2K and 10 for a 5K). If this is the case, even if I misjudge my capabilities and have to slow a bit, I still can get a PR, which makes it mentally much easier to continue.

    I also don’t have a lot of my ego wrapped up in my times. I know I’ll never get close to a world record and I’ll never be as fast as I was when I was young. So I don’t beat my self up if I’m not as fast as I think I should be.

  4. shirleygkn said

    Nosmo, you have probably rightly so reminded me that I cannot keep improving at every session (especially within a short time span). With Pete’s programme and the way he targets the sessions I have come to expect to improve though with every hard session. Steady sessions can be very flexible, I take them as they come (within reason – they usually still have to serve a purpose) – but I have always progressed through the sessions with caution and usually know if/why I don’t succeed at a particular session. I don’t sit at the rower and row for no reason… You have also reminded me that a time will come when I will no longer make improvements, when that will be I don’t know and don’t think about, but I have goals and intend to reach them. I have a few targets that I have reached and want to reach again, but most of the targets are new territory.

    Like you I neg split most pieces and I also watch the ave pace and the proj time but I don’t think I judge the whole piece accurately enough yet as I count on a good sprint at the finish to accomplish a good result whereas a more steady row throughout at a slightly higher pace could bring more satisfying results than being over cautious until the last 1min or so – depending on the distance. I have to work on that, I think it’s a lack of confidence.

    I must add here that I am really only competing against myself, in any competitions I am able to enter I am usually on my own in my age group unfortunately. I train on my own (although I now find RowPro hugely beneficial in that regard) and therefore target all internet competitions as training pieces too. I don’t think I’m obsessed but would just like to say I give it my best – while enjoying it and keeping good health.

    Thank you for your input, I often read (and take advantage of) your comments.

  5. Nosmo said

    “….I count on a good sprint at the finish to accomplish a good result…”
    I’ve found that a fast final sprint really is hard on the recovery. I try not to bring the pace up too much over average, usually about 2 seconds max for all but the last interval. Even for long hard distance I also try not to go too fast at the end. Much better to have a faster average pace then to go too hard at the end. Unless I have a the next day off or a very easy day scheduled, I won’t go too hard at the end of the L3 workouts (i.e. hard distance).

    “Thank you for your input, I often read (and take advantage of) your comments.”
    Your welcome. It nice to know I’m not only tooting my own horn.

Leave a Reply

 
