Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Is this the peak?

Posted by thepeteplan on August 11, 2008

I won’t say definitely that this is the toughest session we’ll be doing during this 5k phase of PP08, as when I said that during the 10k training phase some of the athletes following the plan seemed to have a different idea when the following week’s schedule was released. However, today’s session is a tough one.

6 x 1k / 1min rest:
3:18.5 / 1:39.2 / 31
3:18.4 / 1:39.2 / 31
3:18.4 / 1:39.2 / 31
3:18.4 / 1:39.2 / 31
3:18.3 / 1:39.1 / 31
3:17.5 / 1:38.7 / 31

Total: 6k = 19:49.5 / 1:39.1 / 31

The aim was to keep all reps under 1:39.3, my 5k pb pace, so it was a successful session. Without looking back through my old training diaries I can’t quantify how much faster this is than previous attempts when working up towards a 5k test, but I am certain it is the fastest I’ve completed the session ever.

With nearly 3 weeks to go before the end of phase 5k test things are looking good at the moment. When I finished this session at lunchtime today it made me wonder whether I should do a 6k test too, as I would like to break the illusive 20mins (1:40.0 pace). My best time for 6k is 20:04, and I’m in better shape physically now. However, the best decision is to stick to the plan, do the 5k around 29th August, and if that goes to plan perhaps go for the 6k a week or two later, during the initial stages of BIRC training.

The 5k test:

The 5k test will be the third test of the PP08 programme (4th if you count the marathon I began with). For the first test (half marathon) Jef and I rowed together in my back garden, and Jamie joined us via rowpro from New York. For the second test (10k) David and I rowed it together in his back garden. Does anyone on the PP08 programme want to get together for the 5k? I am happy to host in my back garden again – send me an email if you’re interested.

Longer term goals and plans:

The PP08 programme has been aiming towards the British Indoor Rowing Championships in late October, but not all of the training group will be able to compete there. We will then carry on through to the World Indoor Rowing Championships in February (Boston, USA) where a number of us plan to attend. Medal hopes at this level of competition depend solely, for me, on who shows up to race. I am not fast enough to trouble the best in my category, I’m simply not physically big enough to. So my sole aim is to row the fastest 2k I can at each competition. I would like to row under 6:10 at one of them, but training approaching that time will tell if that is possible.

Following that I don’t know what my longer term goals will be. Will there be a PP09? Will I try my hand at some cycling time trialling? Will I have a go at the rowathlon series next year? I’ll just see what my motivation levels are like for each discipline come that time.

Leave a Reply

 
