Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

The night before…. again.

Posted by thepeteplan on July 4, 2008

Another phase of Pete Plan 2008 is almost over. Tomorrow is our 10k test. I am a little nervous about it for one reason only – the training has gone well, I’m in great shape, I feel mentally strong, and I know I’m going to push hard and do a new pb time. In other words, it is going to hurt.

My current 10k pb (34:22.2) was set a little over 4 years ago on 22nd February 2004 at a time when I was at my higher fitness level ever, until now. This was only a month after the 100k world record, and setting my 2k pb. So for me this will be a huge benchmark to beat this long standing pb, and a great sign for the rest of the season.

Today I took the day off to be fresh and ready for the 10k tomorrow. Yesterday I did a couple of training sessions, mainly because the first one wasn’t good. At lunchtime I sat on the erg for my scheduled easy 30min row, and got through only 5mins of it before stopping. So in the evening I did a rowpro 5k with a large group of rowers and did a solid 17:03.2 (1:42.3 / 28spm).

Good luck to the rest of the team on their 10k’s tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

 
