Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Training and measuring

Posted by thepeteplan on July 1, 2008

A warm day in the gym today, but steady distance work was on the plan, so that is what was done.

12k = 45:08.2 / 1:52.8 / 23

Pete Plan Coaching services:

When I first began offering the coaching service in January I didn’t research how much other coaches were charging. I had a reasonable idea, but I just set my prices at a level I thought fair. I was researching yesterday what other coaches offer in the way of anthropometric measurements / body composition analysis, and so was looking at the prices they are charging for their services too – either I am seriously under-pricing myself, or the market will tolerate much higher prices than I personally would be willing to pay.

I have updated the “Pete Plan Coaching” page on the blog to detail the new service I will be offering in anthropometric body analysis. As detailed there the service I will be offering consists of 17 measurements including 8 skinfold measurements, and I will then generate a full report for you detailing these measurements. As I have been ISAK (International Society for the Advancement of Kinanthropometry) trained, the measurements will be very accurate. You can keep this report (I will keep records too) and then track your changes in body composition and shape over time as you have further measurements taken.

This will be of great benefit to those using the erg to aid weight loss, or to reduce their body fat levels. Often the scales won’t change for periods of time, and you can even feel like you are getting more “flabby”, but by having accurate measurements taken you can be sure whether you are going in the right direction.

From my reading yesterday I do not believe that other people involved in indoor rowing offer these type of measurements, and none state that they are certified to take them. I would assume that many will offer some form of body composition analysis probably using bio-electrical impedance body fat measurement technique, which isn’t regarded by those very experienced in this area as a good, or accurate, method for body fat measurement.

Leave a Reply

 
