Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

A taste of things to come

Posted by thepeteplan on June 30, 2008

As a couple of my coaching group wanted to do a 5k test today, I gave the rest of the PP08 group a 1500m reps session to do. This is a bit of a shock to the system approaching the end of our 10k training phase, but a good feeler session to get an idea of staring paces in the upcoming 5k training phase that will follow on 2 weeks after the 10k test on Saturday.

The session:

4 x 1500m / 5R:
4:59.8 / 1:39.9 / 30
4:59.6 / 1:39.8 / 30
4:59.5 / 1:39.8 / 30
4:59.6 / 1:39.8 / 30

Ave = 19:58.4 / 1:39.8 / 30

I would like to say this was a walk in the park, but it was pretty tough. We’ve gone through the marathon, half marathon, and now nearing the end of the 10k phase – 5k paced work should be tough right now. With a 6 to 7 week phase leading to a 5k test after this the pace for these type of workouts will reduce dramatically though.

I’m still not looking forward to the 10k test on Saturday, but I will give it my best. I have to keep in mind that I’ve done a 30min row right on 10k pb pace earlier this month, and with the training put in since then an extra 4mins should be possible now. My training seems to have lost momentum a little over the past couple of weeks, but due to external pressures on my time getting in the way of training. It will all come good on Saturday, the training is in the bank.

The coaching group:

In the rest of the PP08 group Saturday is looking very promising. A new personal best time is on the cards for just about everyone if they are feeling mentally ready for it on Saturday. David and I will be racing the 10k together. We should be somewhere a little under 2mins apart I think, so I will start 2mins after him and try to chase him down. We are planning on rowing it late morning, so if anyone else wants to do it either at David’s house in Chiswick, or join us on rowpro, let me know – not just the PP08 group. Of the non PP08 athletes, Shane deserves a mention for smashing his 5k pb this morning by about a minute and a half! Shane joined my coaching programme only about 6 weeks ago, and has gone from rowing 30mins at around 2:20 pace then, to his first sub 20mins (so sub 2:00 pace) 5k this morning, remarkable progress, and long may it continue.

In other news:

I have submitted an application form for the vacant position for the third member of “Team QinetiQ”, currently consisting of James Cracknell and Ben Fogle, in the South Pole race. What an awesome event this would be to take part in, but I’m sure competition will be strong for the spot. The initial downselect is due to be done at the end of this week to select 40 people to go through initial testing, so wish me luck! Whether I get through to initial selection or not, as a QinetiQ employee I think it’s a great endeavour for the company to be involved with.

2 Responses to “A taste of things to come”

  1. alan said

    Best of luck with the Qinetiq team Pete.

    I would have thought you would be a perfect candidate.

  2. shaneshaw said

    thanks for the mention Pete, I feel so humble. It’s all due to your help. Thanks

Leave a Reply

 
