Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Poor preparation and indecision

Posted by thepeteplan on June 16, 2008

After spending the middle of the day in the heat chamber at work walking on the treadmill I arrived home from work pretty tired, and fell asleep on the sofa. I drank a can of diet coke to wake me up a little, and decided I wouldn’t train today. So I made a big dinner of pasta and meatballs, and washed it down with a bottle of peroni beer. After eating I remembered a quote of one of my sporting heros though:

“Mentally I feel that if I’m not doing something that my opposition is gaining advantages over me, and I don’t like that feeling.”

I’m not normally good at remembering quotes like this, but it wasn’t spoken too far in the past, so was still in memory. With that I made the (probaby unwise) decision to change and take myself out to the garage and do today’s planned session. I like training in the garage. No distractions, just me against the machine. No music, no tv, no other people, and actually not enough light, but that’s another story (and something I plan to rectify).

So only 20mins after dinner with the meatballs still sitting heavy in my stomach I did a slow 1k warm up and set the monitor for 1k reps with 1min rest:

10 x 1k / 1min rest:
3:24.8 / 1:42.4 / 30
3:24.4 / 1:42.2 / 29
3:24.6 / 1:42.3 / 28
3:24.6 / 1:42.3 / 28
3:24.5 / 1:42.2 / 29
3:24.5 / 1:42.2 / 29
3:25.3 / 1:42.6 / 30
3:25.2 / 1:42.6 / 29
3:25.1 / 1:42.5 / 29
3:23.9 / 1:41.9 / 29

Total: 10k = 34:06.9 / 1:42.3 / 29

After rep 6 I really thought it was a matter of when, not if, I would see my dinner again. Gladly I didn’t. I’m probably better off for having done the session rather than having skipped it, but I’m annoyed with myself for the indecision and having a large meal straight before training, because it made it harder than it should have been.

One Response to “Poor preparation and indecision”

  1. Iain Greenwood said

    Glad to know I’m not alone, full of phlegm I did today’s short intervals in the same frame of mind. I thought the first interval would need to be abandoned. In the last, supposedly faster, interval I did handle down.

    But a colleague in the gym described being surprised by a “growl reminiscent of an injured bear” (how they knew what that would sound like I cannot imagine!) as I took the handle back up and completed the interval 1S/500m slower than the session plan. I was so annoyed with myself I redid the fast interval. At 200m in I was sure I would aquaint the gym with my breakfast. Despite this, at 200 to go, I managed to put in a faltering sprint for my fastest interval by 2.4S.

Leave a Reply

 
