Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Have your cake and eat it

Posted by thepeteplan on June 13, 2008

Actually not my cake, but my wife’s birthday cake. I ordered my wife a birthday cake from Costco, great cakes, great value, but they are huge. We had a slice each last night, and I took most of the rest in to work today. However, although a lot of my work colleagues enjoyed a slice of cake, I also eat a slice or three. Therefore this evening I had to train to burn off some of those cake calories.

Rowpro 10k:

There was a 10k session up on rowpro, so I decided to join a few more people for my planned 10k. The plan for this one was a little different – essentially 4k easy, then the final 6k at 10k pb pace. The result was:

10k = 35:31.0 / 1:46.6 / 27

1k splits:
1:53.0 / 26
1:51.9 / 25
1:52.6 / 25
1:51.7 / 24
1:42.8 / 29
1:43.0 / 28
1:43.1 / 29
1:43.0 / 28
1:42.9 / 28
1:41.4 / 28

It took me to 2.5k into the row to work out why it didn’t quite feel right – someone in moving the erg I managed to knock the left footplate down two notches. So I stopped during the third split to move it up to my normal position, and the same as the right foot. It felt much better after that, hence the drop in rate for the 4th split. The jump in pace didn’t feel good for the next 2k, but then as I settled into it I felt good. A big change in pace like this during a session is generally pretty tough to settle in to, so not surprising. A good solid session again anyway, and good to join others on rowpro for it.

30min turbo:

I then did a 30min ride on the turbo as I’ve not used it for a few weeks. 225watts average. I’m going to have to get out on my bike for some longer rides again over the next few weeks as I am planning on a cycling weekend in the hills in July, and the Saturday ride is rumoured be to something like 120miles, with lots of ascent, and with a group of very fast cyclists. I don’t want to be the one to slow them down, or because they are serious cyclists, left behind.

Due to the cake earlier dinner tonight was a protein shake, I think I had enough calories for the day earlier.

One Response to “Have your cake and eat it”

  1. davcra said

    I liked the 4k/6k session. Helps with the mental side of maintaining PB pace.
    Good to see you back on the turbo. I am having a bike nightmare at the moment. Just broken my 2nd cannondale frame in 4 years (no jokes about being 100kg! I’ve heard them all from my work colleagues). Fortunately they are guaranteed for life so it will be replaced but it means waiting for the new frame and the rebuild of the bike. Decided I needed a spare bike so bought the boardman road comp (I think you have one Pete). Hadnt set out to buy one but was calling halfords to see where they had them in stock and they said they are very hard to get hold of but 2 have been returned unsold so on the spur of the moment bought it. Will now need to get my fat ass out on it for the odd sunday ride.
    For a proper weekend of cycling Pete you should check this out http://www.gpm10.com sounds satanic!

Leave a Reply

 
