Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Easy days

Posted by thepeteplan on June 4, 2008

Just an easy day today:

10k = 37:16.0 / 1:51.8 / 24

I really need to extend some of these steady sessions, but it’s the one area of my training that I find hard to motivate myself to do. I don’t mind doing hard longer rows, but the easier longer rows somehow seem much longer. I have always had success in the past keeping to this sort of distance as a maximum, so I’m not too worried about it, but I will try to extend the duration at least once or twice a week.

I am excited about this second phase of PP08. A personal best time at 10k really will set us all up for a great season of 2k racing come October. I was hopeful of achieving a half marathon pb during the first 6 week phase, but to take the pb by 22seconds is really a great sign. 22 seconds might not sound a lot over a 75min row, but is really is a big chunk to take off – if I achieve the same pace improvement as we go down the distances over the year that would put me at 6:09 for the 2k, and that is the ultimate goal come October. The 10k I feel confident that I could beat my pb on right now, so the next 5 weeks are all about getting in shape, mentally as much as physically, to break it by as much as possible. With the cross team challenge (CTC) as a 30min piece this month it will be great preparation to do a couple of hard 30min pieces over the next 4 weeks to build up to the 10k on 5th July.

One Response to “Easy days”

  1. Jamie Pfeffer said

    I’d be glad to row a long steady-state piece with you on Rowpro. We could row any time Friday evening or Saturday or Sunday afternoon (all UK time). Just let me know.

    Best,
    Jamie

Leave a Reply

 
