Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

5k, 10k, 60mins?

Posted by thepeteplan on May 21, 2008

I’m now only 10days away from the first big test of Pete Plan 2008, the half marathon. My confidence of doing a personal best time for that row in 10days time is actually pretty low at the moment as I simply don’t feel good and fast this week. Either I have a slight illness lingering in the back ground, or there is some residual fatigue from the cycling on Sunday. Perhaps it’s just one of those things, when training at quite a high level I think we all go through periods where training feels great and every performance is high, and effortless, then periods where each session is a struggle and seems to stretch on forever.

As I’d not rested as normal on Sunday I decided to rest from the erg on Monday, and only cycled to and from work. On Tuesday I again cycled to and from work, and then entered a rowpro 5k in the evening.

Tuesday evening 5k:

The pacing for this 5k was a little odd. If you remember I rowed a week or two back on rowpro with a guy doing a challenge of rowing a 1k at sub 1:40 pace (roughly his 2k pb pace) every day for 40days. If that wasn’t hard enough he decided yesterday to make this the first 1k of a 5k. So I went along with that pace for the first 1k and then cruised the rest of the 5k. It felt like I was cruising the rest of it anyway, but it actually turned out to be a very solid time:

5k = 17:06.2 / 1:42.6 / 29

500m splits:

1:39.1, 1:40.6, 1:45.1, 1:45.6, 1:45.0, 1:44.4, 1:42.9, 1:42.9, 1:41.4, 1:39.1

I wasn’t planning on doing a better 5k for this month’s CTC challenge, but I think I will try to fit one in very early next week if I can.

Wednesday steady 10k:

Today I actually had time for a gym session at my preferred time of day, lunchtime. Just a steady 10k. Again I have set targets for the people I’m training with and not looked myself even which session I should be doing which day.

10k = 37:36.3 / 1:52.8 / 24

2k splits: 1:54.3, 1:53.4, 1:52.1, 1:52.1, 1:51.4

Just a nice steady row as I’ve been feeling tired all week. On Saturday I have a tester session that could be make or break for confidence for the HM test the following weekend – a hard 60min row. For me this is 4/5 of the duration of a half marathon, so as long as I can complete it at half marathon pb pace it will give me confidence for the HM the following weekend. The idea really is to do it a bit faster than that, but even HM pb pace is 1:46.6, so that would be faster than I’ve rowed an hour for some time. Fingers crossed for a dry day on Saturday to do the row in the garden – anyone local care to join me? Failing that I could see if I can get some company on rowpro.

Leave a Reply

 
