Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Neg split 60

Posted by thepeteplan on May 17, 2008

I often forget that I’m following a set training plan with a group of athletes when it comes to the day’s training. I set targets for all the people I coach over the weekend for the following week but, perhaps mistakenly, I never commit my own targets for the week to paper. I should start doing that. Luckily I remembered this morning to check my spreadsheet for what session I’d set other people, and that session was a negative splitted 60mins. The targets I’d given the others was split into 20min segments at half marathon +3 pace, half marathon +1 pace, and half marathon -1 pace. That makes it a tough hour physically, and a seriously tough hour mentally having to increase pace in steps like that.

With the 5k and 10k session yesterday I wasn’t fully recovered for today, so I just went into the session aiming to get as close to the targets as possible. I set it up on rowpro so that with other people rowing too I wouldn’t be tempted to stop.

Training:

60mins = 16573m / 1:48.6 / 27

10min splits:

1:50.1 / 27

1:49.8 / 26

1:48.8 / 26

1:47.9 / 27

1:47.8 / 27

1:47.3 / 27

As I said, I wasn’t feeling fully recovered for today’s session. That’s part of the reason for putting a hard distance session on a Saturday though – if you can do it after a hard week of training that fresh and rested you can do better when it comes to a test. Also doing it negative splitted you can go faster by sitting at the same average pace from the start. These are 2 vital factors because I’ll need to be averaging 2sec faster pace than this in 2 weeks time to pb the half marathon, and that will be 15mins longer on the erg.

After the first 20mins at 1:50 I decided to step down in pace 1sec / 10min rather than 2sec per 20min. Then into the second half I revised this simply to beating the last 10min split for the last 20min. It was pretty tough, but an enjoyable row, or at least it felt like a solid accomplishment when I finished.

Tomorrow is a day off, and a planned long cycle ride down to the south coast. Unfortunately I can’t get the wireless bike computer to work on my new bike – I think the battery in the transmitter is dead, so I’ll need to get a new one to try before taking it back to the shop. Fingers crossed that’s all it is. Also fingers crossed it isn’t raining tomorrow.

One Response to “Neg split 60”

  1. jefh said

    Targets are good. Obviously I’m not sure if it works as well for you.. setting them , as it does for me.. having them set. Sometimes I look at them and think “Fu**!” but it’s still good aiming high even if falling short sometimes.

Leave a Reply

 
