Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Hard days and easy days

Posted by thepeteplan on May 14, 2008

One of the philosophies behind any training plan I devise is that it is split into hard days and easier days. I find this essential personally, both from a physical point of view, and from the psychological side. I know when the balance is starting to go wrong when I start pushing the easier sessions too hard, and the knock-on effect is that the hard sessions suffer.

Since I have started using rowpro for some of my evening sessions I have tended to push a little too hard on the steady distance sessions. A combination of being reasonably competitive, and quite well known in the sport means I don’t like to get beaten if I can help it, even on my steady sessions. Today’s hard session was evidence of this effect:

Training:

4k, 3k, 2k, 1k, 500m with 4, 3, 2, 1min rest between the reps, respectively 

4k = 13:57.4 / 1:44.6 / 29

3k = 10:25.3 / 1:44.2 / 29

2k = 6:58.7 / 1:44.6 / 29

1k = 3:27.8 / 1:43.9 / 29

500m = 1:39.1 / 31

Totals: 10.5k = 36:28.2 / 1:44.2 / 29

It is still a solid training session, but it should have been faster all the way through. I will restore the balance to my training from now on and keep the steady sessions steady so the hard sessions can be fast.

The good thing about training in a training group, and of coaching other athletes, is that I never want to quit on a session, so no matter how tough the hard sessions are, even if I have to miss the targets, I will always endeavour to complete the entire session, as that is what I want the athletes I coach to do.

One Response to “Hard days and easy days”

  1. shirleygkn said

    Some good comments there Pete. This is why I’m a little unsure of joining in rowpro as the ‘balance’ at the moment seems to be suiting me just fine. I won’t know if I don’t try it though, the temptation will get too much soon as everyone seems to enjoy the rowpro sessions. I know the ‘race’ mentality would come to the fore though unfortunately, no use saying it wouldn’t.

Leave a Reply

 
