Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Intervals and improved recovery

Posted by thepeteplan on May 1, 2008

Today’s session was another of the sessions incorporating 5k paced work in the middle of a longer distance session. Hopefully by keeping a little 5k and 2k paced work in our programme in this way through the HM and 10k training stages it will mean we gain in pace during the 5k phase much more quickly.

Training:

4k = 14:56.8 / 1:52.1 / 25

5min rest

2k = 6:46.5 / 1:41.6 / 30

5min rest

2k = 6:46.0 / 1:41.5 / 30

5min rest

4k = 14:46.6 / 1:50.8 / 25

Totals: 12k = 43:15.8 / 1:48.1 / 27

Improved recovery:

In the past I have always been very weary of any training that negatively impacts the erg training. In general this has meant not doing any running, and not doing any leg weights, or really erg specific weights in general. Although this is beneficial in the short term on paper, as the leg fatigue from this type of training slows the subsequent erg workouts a little, I think the positive longer term impact will pay off. Although I’ve only run 3 times now (each between 38 and 40min in duration), I noticed a step change today in my recovery from last night’s run. My legs felt much fresher today than after the previous two runs, indicating that my body is starting to get used to the extra (and varied) workload. This is a good sign, and as long as I can persevere with the running every 3rd day I think it will pay off in the long run, not only to aid my other sporting ambitions for the year, but in the erg times too. I will, however, need to think carefully about whether to take a 1 week break from running before each of the end of phase tests to ensure a peak performance for them.

One Response to “Intervals and improved recovery”

  1. Jamie Pfeffer said

    Hi, Pete. Very nice session. I find that I recover faster from a run on a treadmill than I do from running on the roads. If I keep the treadmill set to 1% or 1.5% incline, I find that replicates road running. Because of all the problems that I’ve had with my back, I prefer the relatively soft surface of a treadmill.

    All the best,
    Jamie

Leave a Reply

 
