Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

The Marathon

Posted by thepeteplan on April 19, 2008

An early start this morning, up at 6.45am and on the road by 8am. I’d loaded the car last night so that I was ready to go. The journey up was fine, and I was there not long after 9am. I got my erg and fan set up, and my drinks lined up alongside. After numerous visits to the bathroom it was time to set off. The two paces I had in my mind were 1:53.6 of my personal best, and 1:52.9 to beat for top position in the world rankings for this season.

Results:

42195m = 2h 37m 57.6s / 1:52.3 / 26spm

Splits:

5k = 1:52.3 / 25

10k = 1:52.4 / 25

15k = 1:52.4 / 25

20k = 1:52.5 / 26

25k = 1:52.3 / 26

30k = 1:52.3 / 26

35k = 1:52.3 / 26

40k = 1:52.4 / 27

42.195k = 1:50.3 / 28

I took drink stops at 35k, 30k, 25k, 20k, 15k, 10k and 6k to go, alternating between water and poweraid – just two mouthfuls each time. It was nice and cool in the sports hall, and I was close to an open door, so that was adequate for hydration purposes. It looks very controlled from the splits, and it was pretty much. I rowed 1:52’s, and the drink stops pushed the average pace the few tenths slower. There were various aches and pains during the row though starting with my abs quite early on for some reason, and in trying to relieve this I had quite a bad ache in my back by the end. My legs felt pretty fresh throughout, no issue aerobically, and no significant glute pain.

All in all quite a successful row. For the final 2k I just kept the projected time just under 2h 38m – I could have pushed it harder but for a few seconds off the time I didn’t think it was worth the injury potential pushing it to the limit in the final stages would bring.

Hopefully I won’t do another one for at least another 3.5 years!

7 Responses to “The Marathon”

  1. jamiepfeffer said

    World #1! Awesome row, Pete. 1:52s for over 2.5 hours is quite amazing. Very well rowed!

    Best,
    Jamie

  2. thepeteplan said

    Jamie – I actually had in mind your 2hr pb of 1:52.7 pace and wanted to make sure I was under that at the 2hr mark.

  3. jane said

    really well paced pete, brilliant stuff, and thanks for coming to row alongside me. it made all the difference. thanks for putting up with my chatter/singing/bizarre song collection; i hope it didn’t distract you too much. i’m beginning to feel a bit more human now (after a little nap!)

    this blog is weird – i have to refresh each page, otherwise it’s just blank!

    i just thought – maybe those paracetamol did actually help me not to feel any shoulder pain etc. my bum is pretty sore though!

    jane x

  4. shirleygkn said

    Such precision pacing there Pete, congrats on your top placing!! Great effort!!

  5. davcra said

    Sensational row pete! I know you hadn’t done much distance work so to sit down and crank out 1:52s is pretty awesome…good mental strength I would say!

  6. Neil said

    Wow! Fantastic achievement Pete! Well done!

    Neil 🙂

  7. alan said

    Perfect purposeful planned precision pulling with panache, plentiful praises Pete (I like alliteration !)

    Alan

Leave a Reply

 
