Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

The night before

Posted by thepeteplan on April 18, 2008

The start of the marathon is about 14 hours away, and I’m starting to really regret ever thinking about attempting it. My last marathon there was no build up at all, a friend was rowing one as part of a gym open day, and I agreed the day before to row it with him. No expectations, no real plan, just picked a pace and set off. There were also a lot of distractions being an open day in the gym with lots of people coming and going throughout.

This time there are three of us rowing the marathon, and as far as I know noone else will be around. It’s not just down the corridor, it’s a 75mile drive north. I have a plan, I have an expectation. I’m nervous as hell. I even considered just setting the erg up in the living room this evening, setting 42195m, and getting it out of the way.

I’m sure I will feel a sense of accomplishment when I finish rowing tomorrow, and I’m sure the nerves about the task ahead will go soon into it, but currently I just wish I’d never considered it. Blogging your training has a great motivating effect, but there is also no backing out when you decide to do something, be that a good effect or not. At least in 17 hours it will be over…

One Response to “The night before”

  1. jamiepfeffer said

    Actually, 16 hours and 37 minutes.

Leave a Reply

 
