Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Long intervals

Posted by thepeteplan on April 14, 2008

I’d given a new session to Jamie this week, and as it was a session I hadn’t tried myself before I said that I too would attempt it this week.

The session is 5k, 4k, 3k, 2k, 1k with a equal number of minutes rest following an interval as the km’s of the interval – so 5min rest after the 5k, 4min after the 4k, and so on. However, the twist is that I told Jamie to go at whatever pace he wanted, but he must go at least 1second faster in pace on each subsequent interval. So the trick is going at a pace on the 5k where you’re able to go 1second faster on each interval, but where this means that the 1k is close to maximal at the end.

With 15k total distance in the session it is quite long as interval sessions go (for me), and with increasing pace and decreasing rest it was going to be tough to judge a starting pace. I didn’t think too carefully about it though and picked a pace marginally faster than my 1hour pb pace for the 5k – 1hr pb = 1:45.2, so starting pace = 1:44.9, stepping down from there.

The session:

5k = 17:29.4 / 1:44.9 / 28

5min rest

4k = 13:51.4 / 1:43.9 / 29

4min rest

3k = 10:17.5 / 1:42.9 / 30

3min rest

2k = 6:47.8 / 1:41.9 / 30

2min rest

1k = 3:21.3 / 1:40.6 / 31

Totals: 15k = 51:47.4 / 1:43.5 / 29

I’m glad I didn’t think too hard about the pacing before starting the session or I would have realised that the 5k was inside 60min pb pace, and well inside current 60min potential – the 3k was right on 30min pb pace, and the 1k close to current 5k pace. If I had thought about it like that I think I would have started slower! As it was I think I got the pacing just right – if I had started 1sec faster pace for the 5k I would not have finished the session.

The 3k was probably the mentally toughest piece in the session when I realised it was at 30min pb pace after 9k of sub 1:45 rowing, with a faster 3k to come. The 2k and 1k were physically pretty tough, but not in the same way as faster paced interval work. Overall it was a great workout.

2 Responses to “Long intervals”

  1. atomiqsix said

    that’s a killer sesh, Pete, nice execution šŸ™‚

  2. Jamie Pfeffer said

    Great work Pete! I spent most of this afternoon at work trying to decide how to pace the 5K tomorrow. And I need to contemplate it some more. You’ve turned an ordinary Wednesday row into a Big Event. That’s first-class coaching. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

 
