Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Keep on pulling

Posted by thepeteplan on March 28, 2008

Another extended warm up today in the heat chamber, and back to the leg pressing. 1hour40mins of continous leg pressing marked the half way point in the trial, so only 5 sessions of this to go. I wasn’t sure until I sat on the erg in the gym quite what I was going to do today. The week’s interval sessions are already done, so I really needed a distance piece, but after the mental test of the long duration leg pressing I didn’t know if I could mentally handle a long steady erg afterwards. However, I set 10k and decided to make it mentally “easier” by going a little faster. I’m sure it made sense to me at the time.

Training:

10k = 35:10.9 / 1:45.5 / 28

2k splits:

1:44.9 / 28

1:45.1 / 28

1:45.2 / 28

1:46.9 / 27

1:45.5 / 28

It felt good until I hit a wall with about 4k to go. Stopping was never a consideration, I just had to slow down.

Following that just enough energy for one weights exercise:

Clean and press = 40kg, 3 sets of 8 reps

Racing:

Only just over a week to the Basingstoke IRC where I plan to race both the 2500m and the 300m races in the 30+ category. I don’t really have a good idea yet what pace I will go at for the 2.5k, and it will be hard to do any good predictor sessions next week with the heat trials every other day. The 300m will just be pretty much flat out, and I would like to break 1:20 pace for that.

One Response to “Keep on pulling”

  1. shirleygkn said

    Well done Pete, after you’ve finished your heat chamber sessions I’m sure you will be showing the benefits of all the extra ‘workouts’.

Leave a Reply

 
