Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Archive for March 21st, 2008

In your own little world

Posted by thepeteplan on March 21, 2008

When you are training hard on the erg it’s like you’re in your own little world. Things go on around you in the gym, but it is all just a little blurry outside of your erging bubble. I forget sometimes that there are sometimes 30+ other people in my little gym when I’m mid session. However, on a bank holiday weekend there is no-one. I arrived there at 11am and the lights and music were off, not a single person to be seen, perfect. On with the lights, on with the music, and on with the c-breeze:

gym-ergs.jpg

Not one to give a session to people without being willing to do it myself, today I did a 30min rate 20 piece, as I had put that in Shirley’s programme for this week.

Training:

30r20 = 8319m / 1:48.1 / 20

5min splits:

1:47.9, 1:48.1, 1:48.2, 1:48.3, 1:48.6, 1:47.9 (all 20spm)

Weights:

Clean and press = 40kg, 3 sets of 8

Chin ups = 3 sets of 3

Seated cable row = 49kg (max), 3 sets of 10

I haven’t done a 30r20 for quite some time. It’s one of those sessions that when it’s been a CTC challenge beforeĀ I can do 20spm rowing to get better at it, and am then able to row it in the low 1:46’s, but I find it has a negative impact on my free rate distance rowing then. If I do more low rate rowing I simply get better at low rate rowing, hence not doing much of it. I do think that having some restricted rate, high power, sessions in your overall plan can be beneficial though, just not too much.

The clean and press I felt very quick and powerful on today, so will either add one more set, or a few more reps to each set, next time.

A day out tomorrow means probably no training (unless I am awake early enough for a quick cycle), which just means I will move my rest day and do a session Sunday instead.

Posted in Fast distance | Tagged: | 1 Comment »