Lunch hour

The Pete Plan blog

Steady distance and PPC members

Posted by thepeteplan on March 4, 2008

Training:

Steady distance day today, which currently is 10k every session.

10k = 36:58.1 / 1:50.9 / 24

2k splits: 1:51.6, 1:51.3, 1:51.2, 1:51.0, 1:49.2 (all 24spm)

Then time for a few compound weight exercises:

Bench press: 70kg, 3 sets of 5 reps

Clean and press: 40kg, 3 sets of 6 reps

Squats: 40kg, 3 sets of 10 reps

 The bench pressing I’m currently trying to alternate between 60kg and sets of 8 to 10, and 70kg with less reps per set, just to try to increase my strength a little. Clean and press I’m really limited by the press bit, but I still think it’s best overall keeping the weight fairly light for a while. Squats I can’t go heavy as we don’t have a squat rack in the gym, so I have to pick the bar up from the floor. Not that I want to go heavy on them after an erg session, with a hard session the following day.

Blog members area:

The members area of the blog is now fully up and running. Each person following Pete Plan Coaching has their own page to use as they wish, with most people currently using it for a personal bio. Hopefully this will become a valuable resource for people following the coaching, but it will always be strictly a closed group area of the blog. I have had a number of interesting articles on my computer at work that many people might find useful and interesting to do with various related areas to erg performance. Until now I had no easy way of sharing these with people. I just need to decide which to put on the main blog, and which to restrict to members. This will mainly depend on getting the authors permission for open access.

Training thoughts:

I think some people in the past have suffered following my training advice as I have always tended to leave it up to them when they need additional rest, be it an extra rest day or two, or a full easy week. I am considering experimenting with an adaption to the PP and putting in an easier week to each cycle, so that the normal 3 week cycle is completed, followed by an easier (note, I don’t say easy..) week before the next cycle is begun. There are one or two components from the PP07 plan I would like to incorporate into my training now, and using this easier week for those I think could benefit the overall PP structure. Watch this space for more details.

One Response to “Steady distance and PPC members”

  1. George Dunning said

    Factoring in an easier week makes sense Pete. Most people perceive a continuous speed improvement from repeated session to repeated session as a ‘must’ where as it is not necessarily always the best measure of improvement. I tend to think that repeating a session at the ‘same’ paces but in a more controlled style is a good sign of improvement and that you are therefore in a better place to push on next time round?

Leave a Reply

 
